Fear Artefact: The Aims & Objectives of My Narrative

The Black Lives Matter Movement (BLM) has been utilised in order to inflict fear into a certain social group and reinforce and redistribute racial hate within society.

This is the point of view that I am going to explore, which is my point of view in regard to the topic.  I will also be looking at how the movement differentiates from the fight for Civil Rights in the United States back in the 1950’s and 60’s.  It will be interesting to compare how societal expectations and discourses around the issue have changed over time.

Now that I had an idea of what I wanted to portray in my piece, I just had to figure out a way to execute it.  I started of by searching for a timeline of incidences where police officers have unlawfully killed black citizens.  I knew there were a lot of victims…but I was not expecting as many as I found.  This is when I knew that I wanted to create a powerful timeline, using archive footage of events which have taken place in recent years in an attempt to show how the movement has been used to breed hate.  I also plan to incorporate footage from the Civil Rights era in order to create a comparison between then and now.

Here is an example of how the Black Lives Matter has been interpreted.  

“Black Lives Matter is not helping you.”

Bibliography

Watson, P.J. (2016) YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sJHvppVEBTY (Accessed: 30 November 2016).

Featured Image Available at: https://az616578.vo.msecnd.net/files/responsive/cover/main/desktop/2015/09/11/635775348402176277929640891_eric-garner-i-cant-breathe-protests.imgopt1000x70.jpg (Accessed: 30 November 2016).

Leave a Reply

